Should chefs wear gloves?

Read this article from the LA Times and prepare for a debate: Should chefs wear gloves?

The photo in this article reminded me of a recipe I saw on a Japanese cooking show a while ago and later tried. I neglected to write down the exact amounts from the TV show, but this is what I made, and it was quite good:

IMG_3427

Seared Tuna with Mustard & Marmalade Dressing:

  • 1 block of maguro (the recipe called for “chuu-toro” (medium-fatty tuna), but it was really expensive, so I used mebachi, about 150 g.
  • 1 small red onion, sliced thinly and soaked in cold water for about 15 minutes
  • 1 big bunch of shiso 
  • 2 myoga (Japanese ginger)

Dresssing:

  • 2 t. coarse mustard
  • 2 T. marmalade
  • 1/2 t. shoyu
  • 2 T. rice vinegar
  • 2 T. olive oil
  • 1 t. lemon juice
  • salt and pepper
  1. Julienne the shiso and myoga, drain the onions well, and mix the three together to form a bed for the tuna.
  2. Salt and pepper the tuna.
  3. Heat cast iron pan and add a little olive oil.
  4. Sear both sides of the tuna, making sure the middle is still raw.
  5. Slice on a diagonal and place on the salad. Cover with dressing.

There was enough dressing for a salad later, too.

Oh, and I did not wear gloves. But my hands were very clean 🙂

2 thoughts on “Should chefs wear gloves?

  1. A very interesting question indeed. It never really dawn on me but I always had this naive thought that an honorable chef would stand by a code if having clean hands at all time when preparing our food. I mean… Don’t get me started on Chinese Take Outs ._.

  2. I overheard a discussion about this on the television and I think it’s a bit absurd :/ also chefs having to wear gloves would deter them from feeling like they need to wash their hands more often since they wouldn’t technically be touching the food with their own hands, not quite sure how this would improve sanitation issues.

Leave a Reply

