If they can make time to read, so can we

Screen Shot 2014-02-19 at 8.47.46 AM

One of the most common things I heard from high school seniors when I was teaching in high school was, “I’ll read when I have time, after the entrance exams.”

I hear it a lot from university students, too: “I’ll read when exams are finished.” Or, “I’ll read during vacation.”

I’m just as guilty. There’s always work to do, and reading seems to get pushed down the list of priorities.

And who is even busier that most students and teachers? Presidents.

Read about the favorite books of all the 44 presidents of the United States. I wonder two things when I see lists like this: “How honest are these answers?” And, “How can anyone possibly pick a *favorite* book?”

Here’s more about President Obama’s reading habits. It says here that even George W. Bush, who we all remember as being, well, not the brightest of the bulbs in the White House, was an avid reader.

Here are some more lists of favorite books by business leadersCEOs and other leaders. Mark Zuckerberg said he drew inspiration from The Aeneid. And Amazon’s Jeff Bezos says he really liked Kazuo Ishiguro’s The Remains of the Day. Bill Gates’ favorite is a little surprising (see the first of those two links).

So if these busy people can find time to read, so can we! What’s on your reading list this year?

Leave a Reply

