Swap that Red Bull for a Fire Hydrant

I found these three simple recipes for Homemade Energy Drinks on Instructables. Cheaper than Red Bull, and better for you, too.

What do you you usually drink during with meals? Some of my Japanese friends say things like, “Oh, I don’t need a drink; I’m having soup.” This surprises me, soup is usually pretty salty (especially miso soup), so I don’t see it as a substitute for a beverage.

What do you usually drink during the day? Do you ever drink “energy drinks”? Do you think they’re worth the money?

Do you have a favorite recipe for a homemade beverage? Share it with us in your portfolio, with photos!

Here’s mine. It’s similar to the Quick Fix from the link above.

One of my friends gave me this recipe. It’s wonderful for a sore throat, or just for a healthy alternative to juice or soft drinks. The recipe makes a strong concentrate, which you can drink on the rocks (for a powerful jolt of ginger) mix with orange, lime, or extra lemon juice, or you can mix it with club soda. I’m sure it would also be fine hot, as an alternative to shoga-yu. The picture shows the drink mixed with about 1/2 OJ, 1/2 ginger drink concentrate, and a big splash of lime juice.

Makes about 1 liter of concentrate (see note below)

Ingredients:

  • 3 c. boiling water
  • 1/2 c. fresh ginger root, peeled and grated
  • 1/2 c. honey
  • 1 t. whole cloves
  • 1 stick cinnamon
  • the juice of two lemons
  • 4 c. cool water (see note below)

Directions:

  1. In a 1 or 1.2 liter heat-resistent pitcher, pour the water over the ginger, honey, cloves and cinnamon.
  2. Cover and let sit for at least an hour.
  3. Strain the liquid through a fine sieve or strainer. (I usually use a tea strainer.)
  4. Add the lemon juice and water and let sit in the sun again for another hour.
  5. Store in the refrigerator.

Note:

I made it again, adding some bruised lemon grass to Step 1 and the juice of another lemon to Step 4. The lemons I used this time must have been much juicier because I could only get 2 cups of cold water into my container. I was also using a different measuring cup, though, which turns out to be U.S. style (I guess), where 2 cups = 450 ml. The measuring cup I used before must be UK style (or wherever), because it says 1 cup = 100 ml. Go figure. I’ll have to experiment again with the numbers.

Leave a Reply

