And I thought my apartment was small …

There’s an idiom in Japanese that always makes me laugh: “It’s the size of a cat’s forehead” (猫の額ほど狭い), meaning, it’s really, really small. People typically use it to describe small plots of land for houses and gardens. “The size of a handkerchief” is one phrase I’ve heard in English.

Well, this professor at a small college in Texas has built himself a house worthy of the idiom. It’s a mighty small space he’s living in. Read all about it and see more photos here: “Living Simply in a Dumpster” (from the Atlantic)

For more information, here’s the Dumpster Project website.

One thought on “And I thought my apartment was small …

  1. Pingback: And I thought my apartment was small ... | Gaia Gazette

Leave a Reply

