What does your commute look like?

Here are some photo collections of people’s commutes. What about you? What does yours look like?

(Photos from “Share your morning journey”)

Berlin

Berlin

Hanoi

Hanoi

Granada

Granada

Here’s a taste of my own Tokyo commute. I move from residential area to city to the outskirts of the city, where many of the universities moved in the 1980s and 90s. I often encourage students to move closer to campus, but I live pretty far away myself. It’s one big difference from my own college experiences in the U.S. Everyone lived on campus, or in off-campus housing nearby. Here in Tokyo, most students (I’d have to take a survey to find out the exact percentage) live at home and commute to campus. Many of them are commuting 1, 2 and some even 3 hours each way, by train usually. So I think my commute is typical of many Japanese university students.

It’s not a bad commute. I spend a lot of time on the train, but it’s a good chance to read and listen to podcasts and audio books. Tokyo trains are famously punctual. I’m glad I don’t have to drive to work.

Leave a Reply

