In search of the perfect boiled egg

We’ve been on a boiled egg kick at my house recently. I rarely ate them growing up and never developed a fondness. But one of my goals for this spring vacation has been to broaden my packed lunch repertoire, and making good boiled eggs was on the list. I’d forgotten the “rules” — start with cold water or hot? Cool completely? Old or new eggs? So I’ve started to experiment, and this has been very helpful (with the caveat that there is no completely foolproof method):

“The Food Lab: The Hard Truth About Boiled Eggs” from Serious Eats

I’m taking the next couple of weeks off to do a little traveling … and more egg boiling. I’ll start posting again in early April.

Leave a Reply

