What have you learned this year?

It’s that time of year again — time to reflect. Here’s one person’s list of the 52 things he learned this year, and he links to the sources where you can learn about them, too. Some of the ones that interested me:

#11 – Even though iPhones are banned in Iran, there are at least 6 million of them in the country.

#13 – The number of people with dementia in the U.S. has actually decreased since 2000.

#18 – There’s a “halo effect” in restaurants. If you see something unreasonably expensive on a menu ($1000 for a frittata, for example), then $26 for french toast doesn’t sound so expensive.

#28 – Tuareg guitar players from North Africa have been influenced by Jimi Hendrix, Bob Marley, and more suprisingly, Dire Straits. Here’s the very interesting (to me) article about that.

Yes, I immediately thought of the guitar in “Setting Me Up” when I heard that. And of course the great “Sultans of Swing” which definitely gets even better with age.  And the beginning beat made me think of Soul II Soul’s “Keep on Moving“, which I listened to a lot in the early 90’s:

I posted his list last year, too … and then promptly forgot about most of it. I’ll try harder to make my own list this year. And I’ll encourage students to use this time to review and reflect on your langauge learning portfolios to find at least 20 or 30 things you’ve learned this academic year.

Leave a Reply

